Milford Red and Blue Drive-In

230 Cherry Street,
Milford, CT 06460

Unfavorite 1 person favorited this theater

Help us make this street view more accurate

Please adjust the view until the theater is clearly visible. more info

Milford Red and Blue Drive-In

Viewing: Photo | Street View

This was Connecticut’s first drive-in theater which was built in 1938. It had a 500-car capacity. It was twinned and torn down in 1988 for the current incarnation as a Showcase Cinemas 5plex. There was a flea market on site.

Contributed by Dave Bonan

Recent comments (view all 9 comments)

Jim Vecchio
Jim Vecchio on March 29, 2006 at 10:22 am

Recently, the Showcase Cinemas that replaced the Drive In were themselves closed down for a newer, bigger Cine-showbox-plex located in the CT Post Mall, a short distance down the road.

shoeshoe14 on November 1, 2007 at 5:04 pm

The Milford/Orange City Directory from 1939 shows the drive-in as “Drive-In Auto Theatres Corp” on Boston Post Road. In 1942 it becomes “Loew’s EM Theatre”. In 1956 it changes again to “Milford Drive-In”. In 1963 it’s “Northeast Drive-In” and disappears from the 1972 directory.

shoeshoe14 on November 1, 2007 at 6:12 pm

Oops. Forgot to add that the 1963 address is on 230 Cherry Street.

kencmcintyre on May 18, 2009 at 1:47 am

Here is an August 1958 ad from the Bridgeport Post:

NYozoner on February 14, 2011 at 3:31 am

230 Cherry St, Milford, CT 06460

The above address will map accurately to the location of the drive-in.

Here is a 1960 aerial photo of the drive-in, courtesy of Earth Explorer and USGS.

aktubm on April 29, 2012 at 9:25 am

Saw many movies here during late 60’s & early 70’s. Remember seeing Woodstock, The Incredible two headed transplant, The Dr. Phibes movies and plenty of AIP Corman pictures.

nycsongs on September 27, 2013 at 10:08 am

lol They showed xxx movies in the early ‘80’s. I saw some there and also watched just the top of the screen many times from the pizza place across the street (Mama Teresa’s?).

You must login before making a comment.

New Comment

Subscribe Want to be emailed when a new comment is posted about this theater?
Just login to your account and subscribe to this theater