Strand Theatre

140 Broad Street,
Kingsport, TN 37660

Unfavorite 2 people favorited this theater

Strand Theatre

Viewing: Photo | Street View

The Strand Theatre opened in 1925 and was operated by Martin Theatres. It closed in 1979. The current church moved in here in 1989.

Contributed by Jack Coursey

Recent comments (view all 14 comments)

kencmcintyre
kencmcintyre on August 22, 2007 at 10:00 pm

Here is a December 1944 ad from the Kingsport Times:
http://tinyurl.com/2w25hs

JackCoursey
JackCoursey on October 19, 2007 at 10:36 am

There apparently were two Strand Theatres in Kingsport; one on West Main Street and the other on Broad Street. The West Main Strand was later renamed the Nu-Strand then the Gem. According to the article above, the 800 seat Broad Street theatre was destroyed by fire in 1945 although the church which currently resides at this address looks very similar to a circa 1940s theatre.

BobG
BobG on November 29, 2007 at 11:17 am

What was the name of the theater that was across Broad Street from the State? The State was on the corner and across the street in the middle of the block was a theater. I thought it was the Strand. It was a part of the Martin Theater chain in the late 60’s

kencmcintyre
kencmcintyre on December 17, 2008 at 7:35 pm

Poor Bill antes up at the Strand in 1956:
http://tinyurl.com/3f92u4

Mike Rogers
Mike Rogers on November 9, 2010 at 5:59 pm

The Strand was showing on Feb.6 1969 “JOHN AND MARY” Rated R
Dec,11,1969 sees the “GAY DECEIVERS” playing Rated R
Dec25 1969 has “KRAKATOA EAST OF JAVA” playing.
Jan 1 1970 the doors open at 1:15 News Years Day to see “THE REIVERS”.

Joe Vogel
Joe Vogel on November 22, 2010 at 3:25 am

The theater first built on this site was opened on April 1, 1925, as the Nu-Strand, according to Margaret Ripley Wolfe’s book “Kingsport, Tennessee: a Planned American City” (Google Books preview.)

Following the disastrous fire in December, 1945, the Strand Theatre was rebuilt on the same site, and opened in July, 1947. The rebuilt house seated 1040, about a 20% greater capacity than the 1925 Strand.

The Kingsport Public Library has several photos of the 1947 Strand, and one of the original Strand (which became the Gem Theatre) on Main Street, but there are no photos of the theater building that stood on this site from 1925 to 1945.

Mike Rogers
Mike Rogers on December 27, 2010 at 12:04 pm

Jan 4 1968,“VALLEY OF THE DOLLS” is ending its run at the STRAND.

ree_ree
ree_ree on August 26, 2012 at 3:43 pm

Praising God as this will be the new location for Lamplight theatre, Billy Wayne minastries.Gods work will continue at this location!

ree_ree
ree_ree on March 9, 2013 at 8:13 am

it is official New Home for Lamplighttheatre, Billy Wayne minastries. God Bless our new home!

Joe Vogel
Joe Vogel on September 16, 2014 at 3:22 pm

The Nu-Strand Theatre of 1925 was designed by New York architect C. K. Howell, according to the March 29 issue of The Kingsport Times.

You must login before making a comment.

New Comment

Subscribe Want to be emailed when a new comment is posted about this theater?
Just login to your account and subscribe to this theater