Jiron Trujillo 814,
No one has favorited this theater yet
Located in the Rimac district across the river from the city centre. The Teatro Perricholi opened in 1949 and was built for and operated by Empresa Teatros and Cinemas Ltd.
The facade has three large windows over the wide three entrance doors. They are surrounded by elaborate mouldings and the name ‘Teatro Perricholi’ is inscribed in the stonework at the top.
Inside the auditorium, seating was arranged in orchestra and balcony levels. The side-walls have Spanish Colonial style buildings, which give a setting of being in a courtyard. The ceiling was plain, painted blue to represent the sky. There was a stage and stage house, although the building was primarly used as a cinema.
It was still named Teatro Perricholi in 1991 but in later years it had been re-named Cine Mismo. By 2003, it had closed and work had begun to adapt the building into use as a supermarket. The entire roof and ceiling were removed and were replaced by a flat roof, lower than the original. The ‘buildings’ along the inside of the auditorium walls were retained and now give a delightful aspect to the supermarket shopping experience. The facade was renovated to its original appearance. Architects for the conversion were Carlos Chinen, Rocio Forero and Aldo Lertora.
Just login to your account and subscribe to this theater