320 W. State Street,
No one has favorited this theater yet
The Gem Moving Picture Theatre was a silent era house in downtown Fremont. It competed with five other theatre in Fremont. After closing for two months in 1927, new owners upgraded the theatre to bring it into the the modern age eventually adding sound and changing its name on June 4, 1927 to the State Theatre.
The State Theatre converted to sound as half of the theatres folded in downtown Fremont. The Schine Circuit bought one of the remaining competitors closing it. When Publix opened the Paramount Theatre in November of 1931, it would buy out the Schine Circuit’s remaining theatre. But the State Theatre finally faded after a double-feature showing of “Navy Blue and Gold” and “Crashing Hollywood” on February 5, 1938. After being converted to retail space, the former Gem Theatre/State Theatre was demolished in February of 1999 for an Old Fort Bank location.
Just login to your account and subscribe to this theater