Theatre Historical Society Announces Awards

posted by Ross Melnick on July 4, 2011 at 8:42 am


ELMHURST, IL — The Theatre Historical Society of America has announced its annual member and publications awards. Included is an award to filmmaker Michael Moore for leading the effort to restore the State Theatre in Traverse City, MI “and for creating a business model that is being used to return historic small town theaters to use and vitality all across Michigan.”

Additional awards included “Honorary Member of the Year” to Dr. Sam & Patty Shaheen “who personally contributed almost $8 million to save and renovate the Temple Theatre in Saginaw, MI” and to two authors for the “Outstanding Book of the Year”: Larry Widen for “Milwaukee Movie Theaters” and Cezar DelValle for Volume I and Volume II of the “Brooklyn Theatre Index.”

If you have not yet become a member of the Theatre Historical Society of America, we urge you to do so and help support this terrific and important organization.

Theaters in this post

You must login before making a comment.

New Comment