195 Market Street,
16 people favorited this theater
Previously operated by: Paramount-Publix
Architects: Thomas White Lamb
Previous Names: H.C. Miner's Newark Theatre, Newark Theatre
News About This Theater
- Jul 25, 2014 — Movie Houses of Greater Newark
Opened on October 11, 1886 as H.C. Miner’s Newark Theatre. It was originally a vaudeville house managed by Hyde & Behman Amusement Co., a Brooklyn based theatre management company. After H.C. Miner’s death in 1900, his surviving relatives retained ownership of the theatre for several years until its sale in 1916 to Edward Speigel, the owner of the nearby Strand Theatre. It was at this time that the theatre was equipped with a Hutchings 3 manual organ. Speigel also purchased the building next to the theatre with intent to use the space to expand the theatre. To accomplish this he hired famed theatre architect Thomas W. Lamb to do the alterations. In 1917, Thomas Lamb remodeled the theatre in an Adam style. In 1917 it was equipped with an Austin 2 manual 13 ranks organ. This was enlarged in 1923 to an Austin 2 manual 18 ranks organ.
The former Paramount Theatre still boasts the vertical ‘Paramount’ sign, as well as the ‘Newark’ marquee. The Paramount Theatre was closed on April 1, 1986.
Although a retail store operated out of the former lobby until around April 2011, a store employee confirmed that behind the drop ceilings and walls remains much of the old theatre, complete with stage area and balcony seating intact. Suring the winter of 2020/2021 part of the auditorium roof collapsed due to the weight of snow.
Just login to your account and subscribe to this theater.