Strand Theatre

614 Locust Street,
Des Moines, IA 50309

Unfavorite No one has favorited this theater yet

Showing 4 comments

dallasmovietheaters
dallasmovietheaters on February 22, 2016 at 10:51 pm

The Bijou/Nickeldom/Unique was torn down. This Strand entry should begin on February 1, 1921 and end in late Fall 1953 when the theatre is sold to Frankel’s which converts the theater to a retail store. The theatre building was architected by Proudfoot, Bird, and Rowan. The first Strand was at 415 Eighth Street and has no entry at present. And the Bijou/Nickeldom/Unique can be found under Nickeldom. The first Bijou is under its own name.

Joe Vogel
Joe Vogel on February 21, 2016 at 8:08 pm

A notice that J. A. Getchell and B. F. Elbert had leased the Bijou Theatre, a vaudeville house, from Fred Buchanan and would remodel and reopen it as a movie house called the Nickeldom appeared in the May 1, 1906, issue of The Des Moines Register.

A reminiscence by Mr. Adrian D. Sharpe in the September-October issue of Bandwagon, the journal of the Circus Historical Society, recalls that in Des Moines, in October, 1905, he met “…Mr. Buchanan, who operated the Bijou Theatre, a small store room picture house playing some vaudeville….”

The Lost Cinemas of Greater Des Moines web site (kencmcintyre’s link of July 9, 2007) says that the house was renamed the Unique Theatre in 1908.

Joe Vogel
Joe Vogel on February 13, 2012 at 9:28 am

A.H. Blank had recently opened the Strand at Des Moines, according to the March 1, 1921, issue of The Film Daily.

kencmcintyre
kencmcintyre on July 9, 2007 at 10:07 pm

The Strand was formerly called the Nickeldom and the Unique. There is a photo of the Unique Theater on this blog:
http://tinyurl.com/2zn4nk