15 Friar Street,
No one has favorited this theater yet
The Regal Cinema was opened on 15th June 1936 with Fred Astaire in “Top Hat”. It was built to serve the small East Cork holiday town of Youghal. The cinema, still owned and operated by the Hurst family, was a replacement for an earlier Hurst owned cinema, Hurst’s Picture Palace that was opened in 1914 and was destroyedby fire in 1935. The Regal Cinema had a 28ft wide proscenium and was equipped with a Parmeko sound system. In 1954 the Irish premiere of “Moby Dick” starring Gregory Peck was held at the Regal Cinema. The film had been partially shot in the town.
The hall was heavily renovated and multiplexed in June 1997. It operated as three screens. Studio One seating 150, Studio Two seating 80 and Studio Three seating 60.
The Regal Cinema was closed on 29th August 2010. It was purchased by new owners in July 2017 and following renovations the Regal Cinema reopened on 7th July 2018. It now boasts the facilities of a wine bar and cafe.
Just login to your account and subscribe to this theater