755 George Street,
1 person favorited this theater
Located in Sydney city centre on George Street, between Valentine Street and Ultimo Road. The Lyric Theatre was opened by Canadian born J.D. Williams in 1911. The rather plain auditorium had decoration mainly on the front of the two circles. Seating provided for 865 in the stalls, 400 in the dress circle and 650 in the gallery. It was one of the tallest theatres in Sydney but Greater Union, who soon took over operations, were to wish it was one of the widest. When it was equipped for sound films, the acoustics were improved by adding panels of softwood lattice to the side-walls. The old fashioned decor was later replaced with sharply angled Art Deco style and the proscenium simplified. For most of its life it was slightly out of what became the city’s two theater districts, and ran double bill revivals.
In the 1950’s they ran all of the Universal horrors – “Frankenstein”, “Dracula”, “The Wolfman”, “The Mummy” and “ The Invisible Man” series to packed houses.
As the photo for “3 Ring Circus” boasts, the Lyric Theatre showed films in Wydascope. Greater Union had hardly any CinemaScope films so they invented Wydascope which was just masking regular films to look wide.
On 23rd June 1960, it became the Forum Theatre, opening with “Porgy and Bess”. A false ceiling now hid the third tier of seats in the gallery, which became unused. 70mm equipment was installed but the screen was still too small to show that off properly. GU had the rights to Samuel Bronston’s films and so the Forum Theatre was the default epic house presenting films such as “55 Days At Peking”.
A mixed-use office, retail and residential building named Capitol Terrace has been built on the site.
Just login to your account and subscribe to this theater