514 Market Street,
No one has favorited this theater yet
The Grand Opera House dates back to 1852 and began as the Varieties, a unique oval-shaped building that resembled the Barthelems Theatre of Paris. Opened by Joseph M. Field on May 10, 1852, the opulent Varieties had nothing moderate about it — not even the admission charge which eventually discouraged people from attending.
Aside from its oval design, the Varieties had another unique feature. The floor could be raised to slope downard during plays and levelled flat for the renowned Grand Balls held there. It has been the only theatre in St. Louis that had a floor with interchangeable levels — fancy technology for the mid-nineteenth century. The building soon became more popular for its dances than its plays. Unfortunately, St. Louisians did not respond to this expensive theatre which Field had hoped would attract fashionable audiences.
The building closed for three years and reopened under the management of Henry Bernstein. Re-redecorated, the edifice was sold it to Benjamin DeBar, who later named the theatre after himself, DeBar’s Opera House. Four years later, DeBar dies: John W. Norton assumed management and changed the name to the Grand Opera House. Under his seven-year management, the Opera House did well.
In 1884, a fire started in the box office and soon spread to the gas jets onstage. The gas caused an explosion and demolished the building. Little was left.
But the Grand Opera House was rebuilt to the designs of architect Oscar Cobb, and became a burlesque house in the twentieth century. This rebuilding so radically changed the facade that it looked like an entirely different edifice.
Located on the south side of Market Street between Broadway and Sixth Street, the Grand Theatre began by producing opera, then legitimate plays, vaudevlle, movies and started the burlesque shows in the 1940’s, operating as the Grand Follies Theatre. In 1963, the famous house was slated for demolition which proved to be a cultural loss for the city.
The Grand Theatre — the city’s oldest major theatre — had an attractive facade. Classical architecture was its predominant feature. The three story front had two stories of vaulted arches spanning the building and the third story with arched windows. The theatre’s personality was formed over time. It was both nostalgic and beautiful.
A sports stadium project, now Busch Stadium, would be built in its place. Busch Stadium is an attractive architectural edifice. Bush Stadium has also been used as a theatre. When The Beatles came to St. Louis in 1966, the stadium, which held 60,000, was sold out. Although St. Louis lost its magnificant Grand Opera House, it gained a significant addition to the city.
Just login to your account and subscribe to this theater