30 S. 15th Street,
8 people favorited this theater
Opened in 1946 with the world premiere of “Monsieur Beaucaire” starring Bob Hope. Designed by architect David Supowitz, with William H. Lee associate architect, the 1,300-seat Goldman Theatre was designed in late Streamline Moderne style which included a large vertical sign which was flush with the facade and continued above the roofline as a tower, with the name “Goldman” in huge letters. Originally the theatre had a rather small semi-circular marquee, which was later replaced by a larger triangular-shaped one. A screening room for the film industry was located upstairs.
The world premiere of the Civil War drama “Tap Roots” was hosted in July 1948, with the film’s stars attending. The stars and Universal officials stayed at the Ritz Carlton, where visitors received ‘campaign buttons’ like those worn at the national political conventions taking place that summer in Philadelphia. These buttons proclaimed ‘I’m a delegate to the premiere of “Tap Roots” at the Goldman Theatre’.
Actor Peter Lawford appeared in person at the theatre on October 26, 1949 at screenings of the film “The Red Danube”. The world premiere of the film noir “Wicked Woman” was hosted at the Goldman Theatre on January 20, 1954 with a personal appearance by actress Beverly Michaels. Kirk Douglas appeared in person at the Goldman Theatre for the March 15, 1955 world premiere of the western “Man Without a Star”.
A huge deeply curved screen was installed to showcase 70mm road shows starting with Walt Disney’s “Sleeping Beauty” (1959), and later including “Porgy and Bess” (1959), “Spartacus” (1960) and “El Cid” (1961), “The Longest Day” (1962), “Funny Girl” (1968) and “Patton” (1970).
Local theatre chain Budco acquired the theatre in 1972. The Goldman ened its life as a single theatre September 3, 1974 with the 10:35 showing of “The Education of Sonny Carlson”, doublebilled with a reissue of “Lady Sings the Blues”. The twinned theatre reopened October 2, 1974 with “The Longest Yard”, a first run, and a reissue of “Cabaret” which had previously showcased in the then single auditorium. The two 600 seat auditoriums, each had a 30 feet wide screen. After closing in the early-1980’s, the theatre was razed in 1984 and replaced by an office building.
Just login to your account and subscribe to this theater