La Cosa Theatre
10267 St. Charles Rock Road,
No one has favorited this theater yet
A short-lived suburban St. Louis theatre, the La Cosa Theatre operated from November 1952 until May 1956.
The La Cosa Theatre was unique in the St. Louis-market being an "A-Frame" structure and during construction passers-by started calling it "The Thing" (‘La Cosa’ means ‘the thing’ in Spanish), in reference to the Phil Harris pop-music hit of the time. The screen was over the lobby and back-screen projection was utilized.
Built by Charles Vatterott, the theatre was leased to St. Louis Amusement which subleased it to Hugh Graham who opened the theatre in November 1952. Graham immediately ran into problems with the projectionists' union when he attempted to operate with only one projectionist. Graham gave up the sublease in December 1954 and St. Louis Amusement operated the theatre until the closing in May 1956.
The St. Louis County Library bought the structure and converted it to its St. Ann branch until it was struck by a tornado in January 1967.
Just login to your account and subscribe to this theater