Cameo Theatre

16 E. 7th Street,
St. Paul, MN 55101

Unfavorite No one has favorited this theater yet

Showing 1 comment

Joe Vogel
Joe Vogel on August 18, 2012 at 11:47 am

According to Dave Kenney’s Twin Cities Picture Show: A Century of Moviegoing this house operated as the Alhambra Theatre from 1911 to 1932, but had opened as the Penny Parlor in 1909. It last operated as the Cameo Theatre from 1933 to 1936.

The Alhambra was an early Finkelstein & Rubin house, as was the Gem Theatre operating next door at 18 E. 7th from 1909 to 1923. A third theater, the first Blue Mouse, was adjacent to the Gem at 20 E. 7th from 1914 to 1922. With the Princess (1910-1931) and Majestic (1911-1921) Theatres across the street, this must have been a lively block during the period around 1920.