Cameo Theatre

16 E. 7th Street,
St. Paul, MN 55101

Unfavorite No one has favorited this theater yet

Help us make this street view more accurate

Please adjust the view until the theater is clearly visible. more info

Cameo Theatre

The Penny Parlor was opened in 1909. In 1910 it was renamed Alhambra Theatre with seating listed at 425. By 1926 it was operated by the Finkelstein & Ruben chain. In 1929 they were taken over by Publix Theatres.

The Alhambra Theatre was renamed Cameo Theatre in 1933 and closed in 1939. It was later demolished. There is a newer office tower where the Alhambra Theatre once stood.

Contributed by Chuck

Recent comments (view all 3 comments)

Joe Vogel
Joe Vogel on August 18, 2012 at 2:47 pm

According to Dave Kenney’s Twin Cities Picture Show: A Century of Moviegoing this house operated as the Alhambra Theatre from 1911 to 1932, but had opened as the Penny Parlor in 1909. It last operated as the Cameo Theatre from 1933 to 1936.

The Alhambra was an early Finkelstein & Rubin house, as was the Gem Theatre operating next door at 18 E. 7th from 1909 to 1923. A third theater, the first Blue Mouse, was adjacent to the Gem at 20 E. 7th from 1914 to 1922. With the Princess (1910-1931) and Majestic (1911-1921) Theatres across the street, this must have been a lively block during the period around 1920.

DavidZornig on September 1, 2019 at 5:05 pm

Additional history courtesy Joyce Mellom.

The Gem, at 18 E. 7th St. operated from 1909-1923. The Alhambra, at 16. E. 7th St. operated from 1911-1932. Both were owned by William Hamm, who also owned the Blue Mouse at 20 E. 7th. This block likely came down when Dayton’s built the department store in 1963. On the left side of 7th were the Princess and Majestic Theaters. (David Kenney: Twin Cities Picture Show, MN HIst Soc Press, 2007)

DavidZornig on September 1, 2019 at 5:11 pm

Closed during influenza outbreak.

You must login before making a comment.

New Comment

Subscribe Want to be emailed when a new comment is posted about this theater?
Just login to your account and subscribe to this theater