Holderness Road and Clarence Street,
No one has favorited this theater yet
On November 16, 1912 the residential area of Witham gained the Holderness Hall Cinema - a large luxurious cinema with a cafe.
Richly decorated with fibrous plaster in floral bands, marble terazzo flooring and leather seating, the Holderness Hall had a barrel vaulted ceiling (also with plaster embellishment) and the walls were hung with tapestry panels. A tea room at 1st floor level was one of three cafes in the building. There was a single balcony seating 600 - the stalls accommodated 1,400. This was later reduced to 1,850 in total.
Entrance could be made from either Holderness Road or Clarence Street. The building had cost £12,000.
It was sold to Gaumont British Theatres in 1931, but not renamed Gaumont until 3rd July 1950. It closed just nine years later on November 10, 1959 - a victim of its location near but outside the town centre.
It reopened as the Majestic Ballroom which featured live acts (including The Beatles) and when this closed on 7th March 1965 bingo took over.
Eventually it was largely gutted to form a large funiture warehouse. The former cinema was demolished in early 2004.
Just login to your account and subscribe to this theater