No one has favorited this theater yet
The Regal Cinema was opened on 20th November 1939 with Cary Grant in "Gunga Din". Original plans for the cinema were by architect Edgar Simmonds, who envisaged a Tudor style building, but these were dropped in favour of a Streamline Moderne style, executed by architect Frank Ernest Bromige.
The brick exterior had curved windows, a speciality of Bromige’s designs. There was a square tower on the right-hand side of the building. Inside the auditorium seating was provided for 700 in the stalls and 300 in the balcony. The walls were decorated in a wavey mural and there was a stunning curved ceiling. There was a large car-park at the rear.
Always independently operated, the Regal Cinema closed on 23rd December 1977 with "The Secrets of a Super Stud". After a while, it was converted into a recording studio and concert hall which opened as the Regal Theatre in July 1980. Top name groups such as Spandau Ballet, the Thompson Twins and UB40 appeared.
The Regal Theatre was closed by 1985, and was demolished in late-1985. An office block named Regal Chambers was built on the site in 1986.
Just login to your account and subscribe to this theater