2 people favorited this theater
Designed by architectural firm Messrs T. Taliesin Rees & Holt and opened for Provincial Cinematograph Theatres(PCT) on 13th April 1922, the Trocadero Super Cinema was a particularly lavish and unusual cinema. Either side of the proscenium arch for the screen was an additional stage, about half the width of the main stage, on which beautiful scenes were created and were illuminated during the intervals.
There was a single balcony and a particularly wide barrel vaulted ceiling. Elegantly restrained plasterwork decorated the balcony front, the ceiling and walls, in addition to that framing the three stage arches. The Trocadero Super Cinema was equipped with a Wurlitzer 2Manual/6Ranks organ, which was transfered to the Gaumont, Dingle, Liverpool in March 1937.
PCT had become part of the Gaumont Circuit in February 1929, and on 18th September 1950 the cinema was re-named Gaumont. The unique three stages disappeared in 1954 when Cinemascope was installed.
However after Gaumont were taken over by Rank Organisation, the importance of this venue diminished and later when the Odeon was twinned then quadrupled the Gaumont became surplus to requirements and closed on 4th May 1974.
It became a snooker hall which in turn closed and after a period of dereliction the building was declared unsafe and demolished. A rough car park is now on the site.
Just login to your account and subscribe to this theater