Well Hall Road, Well Hall,
2 people favorited this theater
One of the original Odeon Theatres built for Oscar Deutsch’s Odeon Theatres Ltd. The Odeon Well Hall is located in the Well Hall area of Eltham, and stands on a prominent corner site at Well Hall Road and Rochester Way.
The Odeon opened on 20th May 1936 with Gene Gerrard in "Where’s Sally". Designed by architect Andrew Mather, who was assisted by Horace Ward, the building externally is a stunning Art Deco style masterpiece. The entrance is located on a corner of the building and has a wrap around canopy over the single storey entrance hall. To the right is a glass tower which contains stairs leading to the circle. Buff coloured faiance tiles are on the side of the building. On the left hand side, the brick auditorium block is left exposed.
Inside the auditorium seating was provided for 1,028 in the stalls and 578 in the circle. Bands of concealed lighting in the ceiling illuminated the space, and there were porthole-like light fittings on the side-walls. The decorative treatment inside the building was the work of noted interior designers Mollo & Egan. The Odeon had a 42 feet wide proscenium, a 12 feet deep stage and one dressing room.
The Odeon was divided into a twin-screen in January 1973 with 450 seats in the original circle and a small 130 seat screen located in the rear stalls.
From 1st November 1981 the Odeon was taken over by the independent chain;Panton Films and it was re-named Coronet Cinema. The Coronet Cinema closed on 13th January 2000 and has remained closed and unused ever since. In early 2007 plans were proposed to convert the building into a childrens play area and day care centre, but these have not been approved. In February 2011, the auditorium was demolished, leaving only the front corner entrance intact.
The former Odeon was a Grade II Listed building.
Just login to your account and subscribe to this theater