Town End and North Bridge Road,
No one has favorited this theater yet
The Don Cinema was built on the Town End estate to serve the Bentley district of Doncaster. The architect was Mr J. Blythe Richardson and the Don Cinema opened on Thursday 17th August 1939 with Robert Donat & Rosalind Russell in “The Citadel”.
The cinema was built using steel, brick and concrete. The entrance on the main road led into a spacious foyer housing the paybox, chocolate and ice cream kiosk, cloakroom and manager’s office. Two entrances led into the stalls, while a staircase led up to a first floor lounge and entrance to the circle. Seating was for 996, with excellent site lines and spacious leg room. The proscenium was 30 feet wide, but there was practically no stage provided. A unique lighting system was installed continually changing the colours of the walls, creating a very pleasing effect. The curtains were also illuminated using a similar system of ever changing colours. A Western Electric(WE) sound system was installed along with the latest Kalee projectors. A spacious car park for patrons adjoined the cinema.
The Don Cinema closed on 30th January 1965 with The Beatles film “A Hard Days Night”. It then became the Don Bingo And Social Club. In 1983, it had a new roof fitted and it became the Don Bingo and Cararet Club. This was closed in the early-1990’s and the Don Cinema building was demolished in July 1992, to allow roadway alterations for a ring road.
Just login to your account and subscribe to this theater